2019-04-09: The NE District Pine Tree Event Planning Committee Announces the 2019 FIRST Robotics Competition Honors Awarded at the 7th Annual Pine Tree Event

This is a follow up to an earlier release.

April 6, 2019 – Lewiston, Maine: The 7th annual FIRST Robotics Competition designated “The Pine Tree Event” was held this weekend at the Androscoggin Bank Colisée in Lewiston. Thirty-two high school teams from Maine and around New England competed with their 120 lb robots, designed under strict rules, limited resources and time limits to solve challenges presented by this year’s game “Destination Deep Space.”

The Pine Tree Event District Chairman’s Award went to Team 3467 Windham Windup, a 4-H Club from Windham, New Hampshire.

The Pine Tree Event District Engineering Inspiration Award went to Team 5494, Bizarbots Robotics from Holbrook Jr. Sr. High, Holbrook, Massachusetts.

The Pine Tree Event Winners are the alliance partners, Team 5687, The Outliers from Baxter Academy for Tech & Sciences, Portland; Team 133, B.E.R.T. from Bonny Eagle High School, Standish; and Team 4055, NRG from Northwestern Regional High School, Winchester, Connecticut.

Teams 3467, 5687, 133 and 4055 qualified with their win to compete in the District Championships to be held April 10-13 at Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Team 5494 will be interviewed at the Championships as the Engineering Inspiration Award winner.

The District Event Finalists include Team 1519, Mechanical Mayhem from Milford Area Youth Homeschoolers, Milford, New Hampshire; Team 1768, RoboChiefs from Nashoba Regional High School, Bolton, Massachusetts; and Team 6161, Equilibrium, from Gray-New Gloucester High School, Gray, Maine.

The Safety Award sponsored by Underwriters Laboratories went to Team 1729, Team Inconceivable!, Monadnock 4-H Robotics Club from Peterborough, New Hampshire.

The Industrial Design Award sponsored by General Motors went to Team 6329, The Buck’s Wrath from Bucksport High School, Bucksport, Maine.

The Judges Award went to Team 237, Black Magic Robotics from Watertown High School, Watertown, Massachusetts.

The Entrepreneurship Award sponsored by Kleiner Perkins Caulfield and Byers went to Team 4564, Orange Chaos from Brewer High School in Brewer, Maine.

The Excellence in Engineering Award sponsored by Delphi went to Team 5687, The Outliers from Baxter Academy, Portland, Maine.

The Gracious Professionalism Award sponsored by Johnson & Johnson went to Team 4041, The Iron Tigers from Gardiner, Maine.

The Creativity Award sponsored by Xerox went to Team 2712, Power Surge 4-H Robotics from Woodbury, Connecticut.

The Quality Award sponsored by Motorola Solutions Foundation went to Team 1768, RoboChiefs from Bolton, Massachusetts.

The Innovation in Control Award sponsored by Rockwell Automation was won by Team 133, B.E.R.T. from Bonny Eagle High School, Standish, Maine.

The Autonomous Award sponsored by Ford went to Team 1519, Mechanical Mayhem from Milford, New Hampshire.

The Imagery Award in honor of Jack Kamen went to Team 172, The Northern Force, from Gorham and Falmouth High Schools, Gorham and Falmouth, Maine.

The Team Spirit Award went to Team 1729, Team Inconceivable!, Monadnock 4-H Robotics Club from Peterborough, New Hampshire.

This year’s Pine Tree Event sponsors included NE FIRST, Robotics Institute of Maine, Maine Society of Professional Engineers, and the US Army.

A FIRST competition is an exciting sporting event using robots created and built by students with the guidance of professional mentors. With donor funding and volunteer labor, this event is made possible by contributions from individuals and business partners from around the state. Members of the community interested in a contribution of any kind should contact the planning committee, which is comprised of individuals from the Pine Tree District and includes educators, engineers, medical professionals, and more. The committee’s contact email is pinetreeregional@gmail.com.

# # #